Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Western_Neil is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Access SQL for Recursion

I am new to using SQL and Access (sort of). I know that this is a Recursion (Hierarchical, Parent-Child, Tree, BofM) type problem and that Access does not handle this well.

The question is how to write the query to join the tables together? Both UnitFK and SubUnitFK have a relationship (1 to M) with UnitID.

UnitID Title Description
    People
    2 Team

3 Pod
    4 Group
    5 Floor
    6 Dept Department

SubUnit_ID UnitFK Qty SubUnitFK
    1 2 2 1 Team has 2 people
    2 3 2 2 Pod has 4 people in 2 teams
    3 4 4 3 Group has 4 Pods
    4 4 1 1 Group also has a team, 18 people
    5 5 4 4 Floor has 4 Groups
    6 5 1 3 Floor also has a Pod, 76 people
    7 6 2 5 Dept has 2 Floors
    8 6 1 2 Dept also has a Team, 156 people

I hope this makes sense

Thanks for Looking
    Last edited by Western_Neil; 01-18-2019 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Changed 5 & 6 to read Floor, 8 to Team

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    If I understand you correctly add the first table and 2 copies of the second table to a query
    Join UnitID to UnitFK in one copy & to SubUnitFK in the other.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QueryDesign.PNG 
Views:	48 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	37005

Name:	QueryResults.PNG 
Views:	47 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	37006

Hope this helps. Modify as necessary
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Not the way to do it.
    instead youd have a table for each:

tDept
    Acctg
    HR
    I.T.

tDeptLoc
    ------------
    deptname, floor
    acctg, 1
    acctg, 2
    HR, 2

tEmployees
    EmpID, Dept
    12, Acctg
    32, HR

no need for recursion.