Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Best way to mark items as sold in bulk as part of pallet?

I'll explain as best I can, hopefully it doesn't get confusing. I'm very new to Access and this is just something I'm messing around with in my free time to eventually show the boss once I get it running. I'll attach the DB at the end, but all the data is just junk I input as I test things out.

I work in a university surplus warehouse and we get lots of computers. The vast majority get put on a pallet and sold at an auction once the warehouse gets full. Right now I have it set up to when we receive a computer, it gets assigned a Location, for example Pallet 1. I'm wanting to be able to mark all items on Pallet 1 as sold and be able to indicate the price for just the pallet, but keeping it annotated that the computers were part of a pallet for reporting purposes. I had tried using an update query to, for example, mark Pallet 1, with 50 computers, as sold $100. But that made it look as if each computer sold for $100. I had kind of tried messing around with a separate Locations table but I had to make the Location the Primary Key, which wouldn't allow me to reuse the Pallet numbers. We have auctions several times a year, so I want to be able to assign computers to a Pallet #>Mark Pallet # as sold with a price for the pallet, not the individual items>Re-use that pallet number for the next round of computers. I appreciate any help. I just took an intro to Access type class recently and it was really fun, so I'm enjoying trying to learn all this.

EDIT: I have removed the Google Drive link and uploaded the DB to the post.

Surplus_Inventory.zip
    Last edited by lowfatcottagecheese; 12-23-2018 at 05:25 PM. Reason: Added attachment instead of link.

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016