micki0220 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Migrate Access 2013 datatype "attachment" with array, to sql 2014 backend

I need some beginner to novice help on migrating a table that uses attachment, with multiple pdf's in that field to SQL 2013. By regulations our back-ends need to be secured by SQL. I am not more than a novice VBA coder, so basically, I need some code on how to do this as if you were writing a dummies book. We have thousands of records to be handled. Any help is appreciated. BTW. I am a DBA so I have all the access i need on the server and file locations.

Thank you

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Understand that an attachment field is a type of multi-value field. This means Access is storing the files in a hidden table. Review https://support.office.com/en-us/art...624E1E323A#bm4

Will have to export the file objects from Attachment field to external folder location. For example code that manages attachment field review http://accessjitsu.com/2015/10/03/vb...ent-data-type/

Will also probably want to create a new related table for records that store the file name (whether or not you want the full folder path you must decide) in a text field. These records can be created in the same procedure that exports the file objects.
    Last edited by June7; 12-20-2018 at 12:32 PM.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I'm still lost. I have no clue and am really hoping someone can give me baby steps on how to export these and how to get them to link correctly up to a new field with a path location. I have created an attached pdf drive with a file location. I need to be able to export these files to the location (which I don't even know how to export the hidden files), then get the correct path to the correct record, without manually doing all this. There are thousands of pdf's