akeller is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit

Quality Inspection Tracking DB Help

Hello,

Like everyone else, I'm extremely new to Access and am seeking opinions, input, and advice.

I work for a manufacturing company and have been tasked with creating an inspection tracking database for my department.
    We inspect the produced product on CMM's (Coordinate Measuring Machines) and either move the Accepted product to the next work center, or create an NCR(Non-Conformance Report) and hold the product for further review.

Our products have a Part Number (Item ID), a Work Order Number (Can have multiple parts per order but is rare), a Serial Number(non-serialized parts are usually grouped on one Work Order), and a Lot Number.

The goal is to add Incoming Parts that are ready for inspection to the database, assign them a priority, and have them displayed on a Incoming Inspection Form. Once an Inspector is ready for a new job, he\she can view the Incoming form and "claim" a Job.
    That job will then be displayed on a "In Work" form that shows the date started and what inspector is working the parts. Upon completion, the inspector will either accept or reject the parts. If accepted, the information will show in a "Completed" form. If rejected, the inspector will create an NCR, input the NCR number and storage location into the DB which will then be displayed on the "NCR" form. After further review, if the NCR is "accepted", the product should be moved to the "Completed" Form.

We need to be able to somehow "group" multiple parts into one "job" that the inspector has "claimed". I have been making some progress but am not sure of the best way to join the Part Numbers, Work Orders, and Serial Numbers.

Attached is a photo of my table relationships. Any thoughts on how I can accomplish my goal?

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Relationship.JPG  

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit