Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    MrOhhmy is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    23

    Clock hand positions possible>

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	34 
Size:	27.4 KB 
ID:	35838



    I'd like to create a form for this log as I am converting it to Access. I've run into this issue with the Electric Meter. Operators draw a line to represent the hours. I was wondering if there was a way to have a default line on each circle and when moved to represent position, that value is recorded to the table. I did see a working Clock with hand positions online, so I assume this is possible. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    you can use a line control for the hand.

    Then you would need vba code to enable the user to move the hand - look at using the mouse events to modifying the control top, left, width, height and slant properties, gets complicated because the centre point for 0 is 'bottom left' when at 5 the center point is 'top left'

    finally you would need to store the control top, left, width, height and slant properties in a table and then use some basis to calculate the 'o'clock' value.

    seems like a lot of work to me

    might be easier for the user to enter a number and the form displays the hand

  3. #3
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    3,001
    Agree with Ajax, also you'd have to deal with a line drawn on the cusp between 4.45 and 4.55 and guess if they meant 4 or 5 ?
    Easy for the human eye to determine, but if they draw it incorrectly and you display the "guessed" result and they need to correct it, they may have well just entered 4 or 5 in a text box.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  4. #4
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    progress bar for each would seem to work better.

  5. #5
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,389
    This might give some insight.

  6. #6
    MrOhhmy is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    23
    Thanks for the insight. I decided to just make the operators enter a numeric value and not deal with the headache. Thanks all.

  7. #7
    MrOhhmy is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    23
    So I made the text box represent a whole value. I drew a line for the hands. Now I have a whole bunch of If statements and was wondering if there was a condensed version of this.[CODE]Private Sub AM1_AfterUpdate()
    If Me.AM1 =0 Then
    Me.A_Line_0.Visible = True
    Else
    Me.A_Line_0.Visible = False
    ...(this repeats for the next 9 didgits)
    End If (10 times)/CODE]
    This works except for some reason when updating a 9. If I change my mind and enter another number, the line remains visible. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    perhaps try something like

    Me.A_Line_0.Visible = Me.AM1 =0
    Me.A_Line_1.Visible = Me.AM1 =1
    etc

  9. #9
    MrOhhmy is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    23
    Worked, thanks

  10. #10
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    technically, I would expect if the second dial is on 5, I would expect the first dial to be midway between two numbers. Similarly, if the third dial is on 5, the second dial would be midway between two numbers and the first will have 'moved on a bit', ditto for the fourth dial

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-25-2016, 03:58 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2015, 05:28 AM
  3. Setting Field positions
    By George in forum Access
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-25-2015, 06:13 AM
  4. Field Positions
    By MaineLady in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2015, 05:18 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 11:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums