Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 20 of 20

scan medicine inventory system

  1. #16
    Gicu is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    412

    No need for file now. Have a look at the IIf function: https://support.office.com/en-us/art...0-647539c764e3

    Cheers,
    Vlad

  2. #17
    farmi is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    10
    So all of that works now.

    Im trying to add a login form using this: http://accesshosting.com/create-login-form-ms-access
    not quite working yet, not sure how to add the macro to the button. i already assigned it but its not functioning.
    what should i do with the textboxes? assign them to the columns? wouldnt that make the form edit the name in the colum? i want to prevent that ofcourse.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #18
    Gicu is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    412
    Here it is. You changed the table name and field name (password from userpassword in the code). Please note that the code makes reference to a form frmUserInfo that you do not yet have (in that one you do want to bind the fields from tblUser to allow them to change their password).

    On my site I have a free download that allows you to customize the look and functionality of an Access database for certain groups (levels) of users: http://forestbyte.com/ms-access-util...access-levels/. It might be an overkill for you but I thought I'll just point it out.

    Cheers,
    Vlad
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #19
    farmi is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    10
    Oh great thanks, it all works now again. i changed some code and tabelnames.
    your system looks really nice, but indeed i think it would be overkill for my program. my current setup works now so thats fine.

    So moving on:
    -would it be possible to create some sort of error when a barcode is not found in my database? how would i do this or what is the term i need to search for online?
    - can i add multiple barcodes per record? should i just add some colums with additional barcodes?
    - sometimes i want to inactivate a record, so that it still is in the table but not active. Why? because sometimes the productbrand changes but it still is the same product.
    so it would be great to have multiple products but only 1 active. example:

    product 1 brand a several barcodes, active record, will scan correctly
    product 1 brand b several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned
    product 1 brand c several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned
    product 1 brand d several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned


    - is it possible to color a icon or something that will show green when scan is recognised and red when scan isnt recognised?

    - i changed the date format of houdbaarheidorigineleverpakking to month and year only, as this is the only info displayed on the product (its the expiracy date).
    is it possible to get a datepicker that only uses month and year? the datepicker in the form uses day month year as a format. (and if stored just use the first day of the month as a value)

    thanks again!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #20
    Gicu is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    412
    -would it be possible to create some sort of error when a barcode is not found in my database? how would i do this or what is the term i need to search for online?
    you would need to use dlookup or dcount to look for the barcodes
    - can i add multiple barcodes per record? should i just add some colums with additional barcodes?
    I wouldn't add additional fields in the same table; instead create a new join table holiding ProductID|Barcode|Active(Yes/No)
    - sometimes i want to inactivate a record, so that it still is in the table but not active. Why? because sometimes the productbrand changes but it still is the same product.
    so it would be great to have multiple products but only 1 active. example:

    product 1 brand a several barcodes, active record, will scan correctly
    product 1 brand b several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned
    product 1 brand c several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned
    product 1 brand d several barcodes inactive record, will give error when scanned
    See above new table with new Active field (Yes/No)
    - is it possible to color a icon or something that will show green when scan is recognised and red when scan isnt recognised?
    first question asks for error if not present - use the same dlookup formula as a conditional formating expression for the barcode field font color
    i changed the date format of houdbaarheidorigineleverpakking to month and year only, as this is the only info displayed on the product (its the expiracy date).
    is it possible to get a datepicker that only uses month and year? the datepicker in the form uses day month year as a format. (and if stored just use the first day of the month as a value)
    the date picker picks a date, there is no month picker. And you should keep it as a date (first of the month) in case you will need to do calculations (how many months to expiration date) - if you change it to month-year it will be harder. Simply apply Format("MMM-YYYY") to your expiration date field to present it as Jun-2018.

    I haven't touched your new db. Post back if you need help with any of these.

    Cheers,
    Vlad

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Inventory System in Access
    By Antonww in forum Access
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-29-2017, 05:35 AM
  2. Need Help:Basic Inventory System
    By shazi9b in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-25-2013, 11:48 PM
  3. An inventory system
    By stew8908 in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 04:50 PM
  4. Inventory System
    By Rawb in forum Database Design
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 06:26 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2008, 07:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums