mlrucci is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Post Open new form to create New ID for customer

Good afternoon,
    I am a bit of a novice to access and I am having difficulty creating a new customer when it doesn't exist. This is how I have it laid out. I have a form in which an employee enters a CustomerID. The field is one to many relationship. When the customerID is entered on the original form, there is an Dlookup for the rest of the customer information on the original form. If an employee enters the CustomerID on the original form, and the Dlookup is blank, this means the customer does not exist. I would like it to work that if the customer does not exist, to open a new form in order to create that customer and input the information needed. I want the customerID they inputted on the original form to auto populate the second form. There have been incidences where they have inputted the wrong number on the second form and I am trying to avoid this by auto populating the second form with the orginial form's customerID. The customerID on the table is the Primary key and is set to number not auto number. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016