Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    BDibz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    62

    Split Database - Using Tables in Front-End


    Hello,

    I have split my database into front-end and back-end for distribution. However, since one of the tables is used for data entry on-the-fly (which admittedly is considered "bad practice" but is the most effective way for these users to interact with this data), I have this table present in the front-end database. These tables appear like so:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tables.PNG 
Views:	14 
Size:	3.6 KB 
ID:	33696

    However, what I've just noticed, is that it seems that these tables are not writing changes to the back-end database. Are these basically just a copy of those tables that I've been appending/updating? Is there a way I can make sure that the tables do make changes to the back end, or should I just go ahead and leave this DB un-split, since I'm kind of using it that way anyway?

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Have you updated with LinkedTable Manager after making changes to tables?
    You can develop on single database, but if you plan to distribute to many simultaneous users, you should split the database, then test thoroughly, and ensure tables are being updated as per requirements.

  3. #3
    BDibz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    62
    These aren't actually Linked Tables. I'm not sure exactly how Access is handling them. It seems like these tables are all self-contained in the front end part and aren't even dependent on the back-end. Maybe I should just delete the old back-end and re-split this when I'm done developing it?

  4. #4
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    If these aren't linked tables, then what are they? What is your back-end?

  5. #5
    BDibz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    62
    The crazy thing is, I don't know. I split these a while ago, but then kept working on the front-end part of it, and now I'm not sure what their connection actually is. Is it possible that the tables in the front-end part are just independent entities copied from the back-end?

    This pic shows the front-end on the left and the back-end on the right. Same tables, but they're not actually linked. So maybe I goofed something up along the way - I've been working on a few projects at the same time so it's completely slipped my mind what happened here
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	febe.PNG 
Views:	13 
Size:	32.4 KB 
ID:	33697

  6. #6
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    The image shows objects that have been assigned into a custom group 'User Objects'.
    Custom groups can contain any type of database object: table, query, form etc etc
    The small arrow in the bottom left is how these are displayed as they are effectively shortcuts

    Your 3 tables are all LOCAL - stored in the FE

    Here is another example

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	14 
Size:	4.7 KB 
ID:	33698

    In this screenshot, the last item is a linked table - it has the link arrow on the top left as well as the shortcut arrow
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  7. #7
    BDibz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    62
    Thanks ridders. I'm assuming that if they're all local, and I have no linked tables in my front-end, I'm safe to delete the old split back-end and just continue on with the front.

  8. #8
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    Suggest you change the way your db objects are displayed by using Object Types instead
    Then in Tables section DOUBLE check you have no linked tables

    Another way of checking is to MOVE your BE to a different location which will break any links you currently have
    Then check whether all parts of your db still work correctly
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  9. #9
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,896
    I have several processes that use 'temp' tables to present manipulated data. Db is split and temp tables are in frontend. Other tables are links to backend.

    Yes, continue in frontend but you will need to properly split and link before deployment. Each user should have own copy of frontend linked to common backend.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  10. #10
    BDibz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    62
    Ridders, I went ahead and did those and turns out I was good to go, so just continuing with the front end.

    Will have to be more careful down the line when I do split again to make sure things are properly linked and not just floating duplicates.

    Thanks everyone

  11. #11
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    OK glad you got it sorted ....
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2014, 09:56 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 09:16 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 08:19 PM
  4. Unable to open front end of split database
    By Dunro in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-17-2011, 07:37 AM
  5. Sending out the front end of a split database
    By Huddle in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 08:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums