olmstead.jim.w is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Question Learning and Creating: Am I in Over My Head?

Hi Folks,

I am new to Access and am trying to learn from tutorials and online guidance. I'd like to give you all an idea of what I would like to accomplish and get an opinion if you think its possible to learn to do it on my own or if I am in too far over my head.

I play on a dart league (baseball style if that helps) and in the past we have kept track of each players Weekly scores for each game they play (3 games a week) and what their average for that week was. The way we have done it in the past was sitting down with pen and paper at the end of the week, write out everyone's scores, use a calculator, get the averages and then also write down each players total score (all weeks combined each week) listed highest to lowest.

Should this seem like a simple task to do? Can I create tables and a form to enter in what the players names are for the season, and then have a form where I can select a name from a dropdown box, what week it is, and enter the 3 individual scores for that week - then have a query that will return a printable sheet with all the figures that we usually have to do by hand each week with the push of a button?

In my head this all sounds simple but the more I'm looking into it I wonder if I'm over my head or if there's certain material I should read/watch to get me in the right direction.

Any advice, help and/or opinions would be welcome at this point.

Thank you, Jim

davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    See if this will get you started, very basic no frills:
    I know nothing of darts, so the example scores I used are probably bizarre.

darts_V01.zip

Two tables, players and scores
    A form/subform for data entry
    A totals/avg query
    A report based on the above query to show player average each week.

davegri