jabarlee is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Design for laboratory tests entry and review

Hello to everyone here, this is my first post. Beforehand, I must inform you that I am not an access developer, I'm just a doctor trying to set up a small database to keep track of some parameters of my patients.

I will not bore you with details about other aspects of the database, only with my current problem. I want to monitor some laboratory (blood) tests of my patients, so I ended up with the following design:

tbl_patients
    ----------------
    pt_ID
    pt_Name

tbl_LabTests (lookup table)
    ----------------
    LabTest_ID
    LabTestName
    LabTestUnits

tbl_LabTestResults
    -----------------
    LabTestResult_ID
    pt_ID
    LabTestDate
    LabTest_ID
    LabTestValue

I think that it is pretty straightforward in design terms. What I would like to do, ideally, is this:

1. Have a datasheet(ish) subform for each patient (selected by a combobox) where the results will be displayed per date. This would allow the user to easily input/edit/review the lab results. Also it would be easy to have calculated fields and the corresponding units for each labt test.

Patient No 1
    --------------
    LabTestDate | LabTestName1 | LabTestUnit1 | LabTestName2 | LabTestUnit2 | LabTestName3 | LabTestUnit3

Date1 | Value 1 | units1 | Value 2 | units2 | Value 3 | units3

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to do something like that, despite my searching. I tend to think that it is not possible.

2. I did manage to create a crosstab query (using an expression to combine value and corresponding unit field), but it has the limitations of not being able to have calculated fields or editing on the spot.

Is there any other way that I could have a persenteble set of results?

Thank you in advance, Manolis

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit