Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 18 of 18
  1. #16
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,815

    The code 'stop' is called a breakpoint. It is a debugging tool in the VBA Editor. Refer to link at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  2. #17
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,954
    rasto
    Earlier you said "you know this" in answer to a previous post.
    However none of us are clear about what you really do know

    The issue appears to be that you do not understand the basic principles of working with databases
    That's not a criticism - all of us were beginners at some point.

    However I do strongly recommend that you learn the basics before proceeding
    There are some excellent videos on You Tube which you could watch - those by Steve Bishop or Richard Rost are both excellent

    Coming back to the append queries
    In your 2 screenshots there is a View button - single click a query to select it then click View - Design view.
    This is an example from one of my databases

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture1.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	43.2 KB 
ID:	33152

    Look at the query design carefully. It shows the table(s) involved & fields that will be appended to
    Click the append button in the ribbon to see the name to the table that will have new records appended
    For example:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	4.1 KB 
ID:	33153

    You can also click on View ...Datasheet view to see the records that will be appended - remember the number it shows

    If you want to proceed, click Run
    As you have seen, Access will ask you to confirm that you want to run the append query.
    If you choose Yes, it will then tell you how many records will be appended - same number as you saw in the datasheet view
    If you choose Yes it will go ahead and append them.
    It doesn't show you those records after they have been appended - most users would find that very annoying

    BTW - you can click No to either dialog box to cancel the append query

    HTH
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  3. #18
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    The easiest way to work out what a query is doing is to look at the sql. To open the sql window, in the query designer see the sql option under the far left button on the ribbon - or there is a sql option bottom right of the acces window

    the construction of sql code follows a set pattern. A basic select query (one to view and used to populate forms and reports) has these sections

    SELECT these fields
    FROM this table/these tables joined on these field
    WHERE some criteria to limit what will be returned

    a group by query is an extension of this to sum/count/etc values

    SELECT these fields and sum these other fields
    FROM this table/these tables joined on these fields
    WHERE some criteria to limit what will be returned
    GROUP BY these fields
    HAVING some criteria based on the summed/counted fields


    then you have action queries to append, update or delete

    append is constructed

    INSERT INTO this this table and to these fields
    These fields FROM this/these tables
    WHERE some criteria to limit what will be appended

    etc - I'll leave you to research the other types

    There are some shortcuts the * means all fields for example

    the queries can be more complex in terms of the criteria, but the basic structure remains the same.

    Access does not lay out the sql, but it becomes clearer if you do so e.g.

    Code:
    SELECT
        Field1,
        Field2,
    
    FROM
        mytable
    
    WHERE
        field3=somevalue

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 44
    Last Post: 04-26-2017, 01:53 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-28-2015, 11:43 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-09-2014, 07:25 PM
  4. Use Function to find data from a Query
    By SaskiFX in forum Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-17-2014, 08:11 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 04:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums