EvilPickle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Inventroy database planning - Beginner

Hello, I'm in the planning stages of what most people would probably consider a pretty straight forward database for inventory tracking at work. I'm very new to Access though and I would like to save myself some hassle and headaches if possible. So I'm hoping people here could let me know if my thought direction is correct and my plans should work.

So the inventory that I have to track has Part Numbers and Part Names. Some of the parts have Serial Numbers, while most don't. Some inventory is spare parts, others are being used.

Right now I'm tracking everything on an Excel Spreadsheet. The following is what I'm currently tracking...

- Part Number
    - Part Name
    - Part Location
    - Quantity

- Serial Number
    - System
    - Sub-System
    - Remarks

Here are my issues...
    - Some equipment has two part numbers. In the system that we are using to order parts, some of the parts have a different P/N. They are working to fix this, but it's slow and for now I have to track both P/N's.
    - Like I said, some equipment has Serial Numbers, while others do not.
    - The System and Sub-Systems... While the Systems are all different, there are a couple Sub-Systems with the same names... example, ECU's. Both Systems have ECU's.. both ECU's are different and use different parts.

Eventually I would like to expand this database to include maintenance and tracking of parts that have been broken, returned for repairs or replaced with new parts. But for now a simple inventory database would help me out greatly.

I came up with the following for tables and relationships..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access Relationships.png 
Views:	42 
Size:	17.7 KB 
ID:	33024