Results 1 to 10 of 10

Form not updating the table.

  1. #1
    snowboarder234's Avatar
    snowboarder234 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    236

    Form not updating the table.

    I had to add 3 new fields to an existing tblBooks & frmBooks. frmBooks initially updated two rows in table. Then when I added 3rd field, which was library, then the form stopped updating the table.
    The three fields that are not updating in the tblBooks are: CallNumber, CallNumberSource, Library
    However, Form is updating the query.

    So, to recap: 3 new fields added to form. First couple of entries displayed in the table, then stopped. However, form continues to update query.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BooksQuery.JPG   Form.JPG  

  2. #2
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,544
    Are these new form fields bound to the corresponding underlying table fields?
    Using Access 2007
    Proficient in Access, Excel, VBA, and SQL

  3. #3
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    7,028
    the form is bound to query? if so, are the new fields in the query?

    are the new textboxes on the form bound to the new fields?

  4. #4
    snowboarder234's Avatar
    snowboarder234 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    the form is bound to query? if so, are the new fields in the query? ANSWER: Yes, amazingly the new fields are in the query -- which is something I didn't expect to see. I went to update the query and was surprised to see that the new fields were already there.

    are the new textboxes on the form bound to the new fields?
    This is where I'm confused.
    The 3 new fields (CallNumber, CallNumberSource & Library) are bound to the Control Source in the property sheet (design view form). However, when I go to Property sheet/ selection type/data tab, this is what I get in DESIGN VIEW:
    In form click on CallNumber and the drop box = 59
    In form click on CallNumberSource and the drop box = ASIN
    In form click on Library and the drop box = Library

    One would surmise that 59 and ASIN should be changed to CallNumber & CallNumberSource -- but I'm not sure how to edit that.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Numbersource.JPG 
Views:	16 
Size:	114.4 KB 
ID:	33011

  5. #5
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,544
    Here is the fool-proof method I usually use for adding new fields.

    1. Add them to your Table first
    2. Add them to the Query second
    3. Add them to your Form last (assuming that your Form uses the Table or Query is steps 1 or 2 as its Control Source)

    The easiest way to add them to your Form is to go to your list of "Add Existing Fields", and then drag and drop them to your Form.

    So you can delete those three fields that you have on the Form now, and then drag and drop them from the "Add Existing Fields" list.
    That should ensure that they are bound properly.
    Using Access 2007
    Proficient in Access, Excel, VBA, and SQL

  6. #6
    snowboarder234's Avatar
    snowboarder234 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeM View Post
    Here is the fool-proof method I usually use for adding new fields.

    1. Add them to your Table first
    2. Add them to the Query second
    3. Add them to your Form last (assuming that your Form uses the Table or Query is steps 1 or 2 as its Control Source)

    The easiest way to add them to your Form is to go to your list of "Add Existing Fields", and then drag and drop them to your Form.

    So you can delete those three fields that you have on the Form now, and then drag and drop them from the "Add Existing Fields" list.
    That should ensure that they are bound properly.
    Thank you. I'm assuming that I should delete the form LABEL as well the form field?

  7. #7
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,544
    Yes, delete all remnants of the original attempt to add these three fields, and add them again using the drag/drop process I described.
    Using Access 2007
    Proficient in Access, Excel, VBA, and SQL

  8. #8
    snowboarder234's Avatar
    snowboarder234 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeM View Post
    Yes, delete all remnants of the original attempt to add these three fields, and add them again using the drag/drop process I described.
    I did as you directed -- deleted the fields CallNumber, CallNumberSource & Library from both the table and form. Reinserted CallNumber, CallNumberSource & Library back into the tblBooks and frmBooks. Still does not update the form. However, again, the Query5 updates perfectly.

  9. #9
    snowboarder234's Avatar
    snowboarder234 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    236
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/x12i9o791o...ary.accdb?dl=0

    To make matters worse, I can't get Winzip to work. Is someone able to access my file through the Dropbox link above and help me with this issue of the 3 fields in a table that will not update to the form?
    Thank you.
    Again -- it's:
    tblBooks, Query5, frm Books; (the Query5 updates, but the table does not).
    Fields are: CallNumber, CallNumberSource & Library.

    This file was created in 2016 and has worked perfectly until now.

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    45,528
    Advise not to use spaces in any names, such as: qryBorrowingHistory_Books Query subform. I think ctrBorrowHist would be adequate for the subform container name.

    Fields OneCopy, TwoCopies, ThreeCopies, FourCopies is not normalized structure. Don't want to allow more than 5 copies of a title?

    If purpose of form is to enter/edit data in tblBooks then the fields from tblAuthors should be set Locked Yes and TabStop No.

    Might want to set Library control DefaultValue property.

    I have no difficulty entering data into those three controls and data is passed to table.
    To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression. Attachment Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-08-2017, 08:56 AM
  2. Updating Table Using Sub Form
    By FlabbyRoach in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2017, 11:20 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2016, 08:07 AM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-11-2014, 01:10 PM
  5. Updating main table from temp table AND form value
    By shabbaranks in forum Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-01-2013, 06:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums