JenHolz is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Date of entry vs Dates of Data, Data uploads from Excel and How data is stored

Hello Community!

I hope you can lend some advice. I am COMPLETELY new to working in access, so please forgive me if the answers should be obvious (they aren't to me). Although I am familiar with principles from reading through design basics, I don't have enough experience to know if I am on the right track in my design or not. I hope you can help me work through what to do next.

I have a report to generate monthly (on the first of each month) where I work. The data is for the stock value on the first of the month for each brand, plus the monthly turnover and average margin for the month just passed for each brand. (eg - stock value on 1 Jan 2018, monthly turnover and average margin for December 2017). Also, I would like to be able to import all of this data in one go with an Excel spreadsheet.

I am getting hung up on a few points:

Should I store the data by the entry date (i.e. first of the month) given how I want to import the data, or is this bad design in the long run? My current design draft (obvs incomplete at this point) -assumes this is ok. If indeed it is okay, then how do you then sort/display/query data for the previous month if they are all in the same table? I have a separate date table which I had hope would be able to distinguish between 1st of month and previous month. However I am not confident in designing it this way, ie how to utilize the turnover/avg margin date column from it when it comes to the main table.

Would it be better to store data in separate tables by the date of the data (rather than by entry date), and if so, how would you append the imported data (by columns from a single excel worksheet) into separate tables in access.