mcahren is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

DB Application GUI - Need Brainstorming Help

I support a large financial app, and we recently moved to the cloud version of that software, and part of that involved creating a lot of custom integration, and data staging in MS SQL Server (hosted on an AWS instance). It's a fairly large and complex system.

I need to expose several tables/views to the finance BAs (2), and I have started down the path of using Access 2016 with SQL Server linked tables and custom code (to invoke stored procedures, etc.), I'm just getting started, but I think it's a really nice solution.

I need to architect and develop the rest of the app, My questions:

1. My Access app currently uses a file DSN that's stored on a network drive. It uses a saved account and password. Is that the best way to go? I haven't deployed this Access app to the users yet, so I want to make sure I make this as simple and reliable as possible.

2. I have the need to create a "dashboard" webpage that shows the results of several different queries/views (data integration history, dataflows enabled/disabled, backup status, etc.). I need this dashboard to be current, i.e., when a user refreshes the webpage, it reruns the queries. It would be a huge bonus if users could update records (change an 'enabled' field on a record from 0 to 1). What are my options here? My AWS instance (Windows 2016) is running Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services and IIS, so I do have those at my disposal, but I was curious if Access had this capability. I want to K.I.S.S. as much as possible, as I have very limited time to develop and support this.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    we use Access as the frontend to our SQL server files.
    Some have limited access to alter data, but most only use it for queries.
    They can get their data quickly and up to date this way.

turbofish is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016