MMMiller is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013 32bit

Need 2 columns from combobox selection to get the record to display on the form

First let me say that I am very new to Access and I have been tasked with a project starting new. So I apologize in advance if the answer is obvious or the question not expressed correctly.
    I have 2 tables, client and chartinfo. The primary key in the client table is case number. The primary key(s) for the chartinfo table are 2 fields: case number and admit date. It is a one to many relationship. I have a single form that displays several fields from the client table and the chartinfo table. I have a combo box that will load the case number & patient name from the client file as well as the admit date from the chartinfo table where the case number matches. I also load a record for the client that has a NEW admit date. Example:

Case # Name AdmitDate
    1 name1 04/01/2017
    1 name1 NEW

2 name2 01/01/2017
    2 name2 12/12/2016
    2 name2 NEW
    3 name3 NEW
    4 name4 11/01/2017
    4 name4 NEW

Once the user selects a record from the combo box, I want to do 1 of 2 things. If the record they select has an admit date = NEW, I want to fill the form with the info from the client table. If the record they select has an admit date not NEW, then I need to read the chartinfo table to get the correct record. So I must read the chartinfo file using the value in the Case # column and the value in the AdmitDate column. I then want to display that information from the client table and the chartinfo table on the form. I have yet to figure out how to do this. Without any special coding, the information displays on the form once a selection is made from the combo box but it is always the first record where the case matches.