Squirrel1804 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Talking Increment field based on combo box

Hi, I've done a lot of searching and I believe what I want to do is possible but I am not sure how to do it and nothing I've found has helped me with the how.

I am setting up a database that will create overhaul reports for a product. The product when manufactured was done in batches and therefore have batch numbers (eg, AA, AB, AC etc) however when we overhaul the product later down the track we need to give it a specific number to identify it, therefore we mark it up to be AA-01, AA-02 etc.

I wanted to see if I can have the batch number (AA, AB, AC etc) as a combo box so the tester chooses which batch the product was from and then have Access automatically pick the next number in the sequence of that batch.

So I could have:

AA-01
    AD-01
    AA-02
    AA-03
    AB-01
    AB-02

Is this possible and if so how do I do it? I have some knowledge of VBA but I am not good at deciphering what code means what. Or what information I would need to change from someone elses code to make mine work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Whenever auto-increasing a value, you have to consider when to do this and how, based on the process. If I choose a value and we increase the suffix by 1, then you start a record, we now have AA-n+1 and AA-n+1+1 on the go. I cancel, you finish. Now we have AA-01, AA-02, AA-04 because I was creating AA-03. There is no AA-03. So does that matter?