Juan_007 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2016

Setting up DB for distances between all entries in the DB

Hey, Hans here. New to the forum. Thank you for welcoming me in advance

I'm relatively new to Access, way more familiar with Excel. I've run quite a bit of Access tutorials over the past weeks, but I'm starting to question if I will find a solution to my challenge this way. So I want to present my thoughts here in the hope someone can help or show me where to go look for my solutions.

I'm looking at the following.
    I have data for about 8,000 'locations'. They are not physical locations, but let's call it that for simplification; as I'm interested in the 'distance' between locations, which is also not a physical distance, but a distance nonetheless. What I want to create is a database where I can record and store the distance between any unique combination of locations. So that is (8,000 * 8,000 - 8,000) / 2 = 31,996,000 distances.

When I started with this I thought it was going to be easy. Create a matrix with the names of locations on a vertical header and a horizontal header and voila: I can start recording my distances. Let's simplify it to 8 instead of 8,000 locations and it would look like this (where x’s are non-unique or distance to itself which both are irrelevant):

--A B C D E F G H
    A x
    B x x

C x x x
    D x x x x
    E x x x x x
    F x x x x x x
    G x x x x x x x
    H x x x x x x x x

Right?
    But then I figured that would not be useful, even in Excel, because pivots are only used to present rather than record data (right? Though it seems intuitive in cases like this…). And I learned that pivots in Access have been discontinued since Access 2013 (why?!?), so I haven’t even taken the effort to start to try to figure out if it could have been done in there with that function.