jediskipdogg is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Query Not Showing All Records

Consider me a self-taught Access newbie. I work for a company analyzing traffic crash data. I have done pretty good with using it to access an SQL database that holds all of our data.

However, I am now trying to create a large query to pull data that a roads department is looking for. The main table is basically multiple fields with numbers. Those numbers all link to separate tables that convert the numbers into description words (we will call these code tables). The issue I am having is not all fields in the main table are always filled out. Therefore, of the over 9000 crashes in our system, only 27 are currently being returned as having everything filled out.

From the Query Design View in the Criteria field I have added Is Null Or IS Not Null and it is still not returning anything additional. I read elsewhere that people said right click and do Join Properties on the lines between the two tables. Then selecting option 2 which selects all records from the main table and only those from the code table where joined fields are equal. I still end up only with 27 records.

How do I get it to return all the records even if the main table has a blank field?

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    How many tables are you joining here?

You want to start with your "main table", the one that has ALL the records you want to return (even if it does not have all the fields).
    Then, join the other tables to this "main table", using the right join to include ALL the records from the "main table", and just the ones from the other that match.
    Do NOT place any criteria on any fields yet. That will only reduce the number of records you return.
    Once you have that working correctly, you can then play around with Criteria, but only if you need to reduce the number of records being returned in the query.