Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    DbowersSCCD is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    2

    Troubleshooting problems with a split database on different equipment

    Dear Forum,



    I had my organization's database working smoothly on my system, but then when I went to show another co-worker the split database, the forms weren't working properly. I have used some copied and pasted code to create filtering forms. The code works great on my system. My coworker has the same version of Access as I do and a newer operating system. Any thoughts.

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Some things work on local tables but not linked tables. Do you get the errors when you run the split version on your computer? What code fails? What's the error message?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    3,001
    "Not working properly" doesn't really help us.
    What errors are you getting? What doesn't work?
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  4. #4
    DbowersSCCD is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    2
    So the part that isn't working is that I set up a form allows the user to set certain critera to pull reports and print them Here's the code:
    Private Sub cboReport_AfterUpdate()
    If IsNull(DLookup("ControlID", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit1""")) = False Then
    Me.cboCrit1.Visible = True
    Me.cboCrit1.RowSource = DLookup("ControlSql", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit1""")
    Me.lblCrit1.Caption = DLookup("ControlCaption", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit1""")
    Me.cboCrit1.Tag = DLookup("FieldName", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit1""")
    Else
    Me.cboCrit1.Visible = False
    End If
    If IsNull(DLookup("ControlID", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit2""")) = False Then
    Me.cboCrit2.Visible = True
    Me.cboCrit2.RowSource = DLookup("ControlSql", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit2""")
    Me.lblCrit2.Caption = DLookup("ControlCaption", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit2""")
    Me.cboCrit2.Tag = DLookup("FieldName", "AppSysReportControls", "ReportID=""" & Me.cboReport & """ AND ControlID=""cboCrit2""")
    Else
    Me.cboCrit2.Visible = False
    End If
    Me.lblDetails.Caption = Me.cboReport.Column(2)
    Me.cboPrintMethod = 1
    End Sub
    Private Sub cmdClearCrit_Click()
    Me.cboCrit1.Value = ""
    Me.cboCrit2.Value = ""
    End Sub
    Private Sub cmdPrint_Click()
    Dim strCrit As String
    If Me.cboCrit1 <> "" Then
    strCrit = Me.cboCrit1.Tag & "=""" & Me.cboCrit1.Value & """"
    End If
    If Me.cboCrit2 <> "" Then
    If strCrit = "" Then
    strCrit = Me.cboCrit2.Tag & "=#" & Me.cboCrit2 & "#"
    Else
    strCrit = strCrit & " AND " & Me.cboCrit2.Tag & "=#" & Me.cboCrit2.Value & "#"
    End If
    End If

    If Me.cboPrintMethod = 1 Then
    DoCmd.OpenReport Me.cboReport.Column(3), acViewPreview, , strCrit
    Else
    DoCmd.OpenReport Me.cboReport.Column(3), acViewNormal, , strCrit
    End If
    DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmDlgTreeSalesReports"

    End Sub

    What happens on my coworker's computer is that when the reports - listed in a table - aren't shown. The user can't select a report or criteria. There is no error message, it just doesn't function properly.

  5. #5
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    What's the row source of that combo (I assume cboReports)? Is that table available in the split front end?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Troubleshooting a Database Setup
    By Russellh in forum Access
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-07-2015, 03:59 PM
  2. Problems accessing split database backend
    By DG2012 in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-20-2014, 06:22 PM
  3. Equipment Database Design
    By cap.zadi in forum Database Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2013, 02:20 AM
  4. Problems accessing a split database
    By tobydobo in forum Access
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 09-24-2012, 08:49 PM
  5. Split database problems
    By stuben in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 11:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums