kiwikitbasher is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007

Latest Windows 10 update preventing "type-ahead" data entry in some, but not all, table fields...

First time poster, so I hope this makes sense...

Following a Windows 10 auto update, I can no longer get the "type-ahead" feature for data entry in some fields of one of my tables using combo-box lookups. Yet the same database still exhibits this a functioning "type-ahead" feature when tested on another PC that I have yet to allow the same latest Windows 10 update to install. I have been using this database for 20 years, and have made no changes to its design for a long time. The Limit to List Property is still set to Yes for the Lookup.

The problem occurs in two fields of my table using sort queries for lookup, yet the "type-ahead" feature still works on other fields in the same that also use query lookups! I can still click on the affected fields to see my list of input values and enter that way by scrolling through thousands of value. Or I can type in the first few letters of a data input value (without the "type-ahead" feature) and then click to open the input value list whereupon "type-ahead" works within the list. However, because "type-ahead" has stopped working in some fields my data entry (based on 20 years of habit) is slowed considerably.

I also purchased Office 365 Home User tonight to see if Acess 2106 fixed the problem I was getting with Office 2007, and it turns out the problem persists with the newer version.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind that I developed this database and my other ones 20 years ago (self-taught), and for the past 15 years or so have done virtually no development, just data input and reporting - so I'm pretty rusty on correct terminology and familiarity with some Access features. All I am certain of is that an operating system change has affected how Access works.

Regards,
    Mark

Windows 10 Access 2007