Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    GregShah is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    60

    Changing Data Entry fields based on One Field Selection

    I currently have a table established to track my information for shipping projects based on a unique shipper number. There are two types of shipments. One type is shipping the product to the end user. The other type is shipping it to a subcontractor for some additional work.

    For both types of shipments, the initial data entry is the same until I get to shipment type. Is there a way for me to open one set of fields for the end user shipments and another set of different fields for the shipments sent to the subcontractor? I know I could list all of the possible data field and simply enter the data into the fields manually but I think it would be convenient if the form only displayed the fields based on the shipment type.

    I guess this would be a conditional form based on the type of shipment.

    I am still a novice but I am willing to try anything.



    Thanks,

    Greg

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    put in 2 subforms. Each subform has those fields needed:
    1 for client
    1 for subContactor

    both are invisible until user picks in combo box:
    Code:
    private cboShipTo_afterupdate()
         subClient.visible = cboShipTo = "Client"
         subSubCon.visible  =not subClient.visible 
    end sub

  3. #3
    GregShah is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    60
    Can the two created subforms populate cells in the same table?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Excel has cells. Access has fields and records. Yes, the subforms can add/edit records in the same table.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-30-2017, 07:10 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 05:43 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-08-2016, 09:54 AM
  4. Limit data entry based on another field
    By chemengr in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 01:21 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 07:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums