Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    TomH is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Create a pop-up text box predicated on field content

I have a form with a check box for "Deceased". I would like a more noticeable indication that this person is deceased. I know I can use Conditional Formatting to change color(s) in any or all fields, but I would prefer a simple "Deceased" to appear on the form.
    I'm a real novice, so if it requires coding, please tell me where to place any code you might supply. I do NOT want any buttons or controls in the box, just the word "Deceased". I'm assuming it would disappear as I browse to the next record.

Thanks,

TomH

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Assuming the form is based on a table or field whose data type is one of: Y/N, T/F, 1,0, then you could have an additional unbound textbox with an expression to show the correct word according to the checkbox state, which you don't even need to show anymore. If checked is deceased, then in that textbox:
    =IIf([MyChecbox]=True,"Deceased","Alive")
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

TomH is offline Novice
    Micron,

Thanks for the prompt reply. Yes, the "Deceased" checkbox is a yes/no data-type field in the table that the form is built on. I only want the pop-up text box if the person is deceased, otherwise, no pop-up.
    If you scroll to the previous or next record, and that person is not deceased, the box should disappear with no other action than scrolling through the records. Thanks again for your time and efforts.

TomH

the box should disappear with no other action than scrolling through the records
    Then you will have to use the form's Current event and hide/show the text box if the value for that Boolean (Y/N) field is True. It would only disappear on the next record if the value became False.

TomH is offline Novice
    Micron,