Antonww is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Inventory System in Access

Dear All,

I am new to access and want to create an inventory system in Access.
    Please consider that I am very basic user.

Following are my requirements

01. I want to create inventory items and I want to add around 5 pictures of each inventory item. Is this possible in access?

02. Can we give access control for different users?

Hope someone will help me.

Thank you

Anton

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    What you want is perfectly achievable in Access, but is not a beginners project I'm afraid.
    If you need this as part of a functioning business requirement, either buy something off the shelf, or be prepared to pay someone to do it for you, and allow at least 3-6 months depending on your business needs.

If you are doing this as a learning project allow at least a year to get it vaguely right, unless you are very skilled and have nothing else to do.

Quote Originally Posted by Minty View Post
    What you want is perfectly achievable in Access, but is not a beginners project I'm afraid.
    If you need this as part of a functioning business requirement, either buy something off the shelf, or be prepared to pay someone to do it for you, and allow at least 3-6 months depending on your business needs.

If you are doing this as a learning project allow at least a year to get it vaguely right, unless you are very skilled and have nothing else to do.

Dear Minty,

Thank you very much for your reply.

I like to do this as a learning project also.

Can you please give me an idea on how to add a picture(s) of inventory items?

Thank you in advance

Anton

Minty is offline VIP
    You can store pictures as an attachment field in Access, I would NOT do this however as it will cause the database to get very large quite quickly. Access DB files can only be a maximum of 2Gb.