School Boy Error is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 64bit

Form to add query data

Morning, I am extremely new to all of this and am trying to create a form for the user to specify query data. So, I have dates, names, location, outcome. I have put the criteria for each element in the "Criteria" box so it reads [Forms]![frm_Report Builder]![PupilName] or whichever is the relevant box on the form. Of course, the query is now returning nothing because it's looking for blank records if the user has left the form blank when I actually want all the records. What i want to happen is if they specify nothing, then they get all the records, if they specify a year group, they get all that year group, if they specify a year group and outcome they get all records with both of those. Does that make sense?! Should I be trying to use an AND or and OR or am I way off?!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    If you only have 1 control, a combo box for the user to pick, then there should be no problem. Query looks at the 1 item.
    but If you have more than 1 control on the form the user can pick 'filter criteria', then you need to use vb.

using the OPEN button (or filter)
    build the 'where' clause by cycling thru all the controls....
    it executes after a find button CLICK event
    if null, ignore.
    if not, apply.

Code:
    '----------------
    sub btnFilter_click()
    '----------------
    dim sWhere as string 

sWhere = "1=1"
    if not IsNUll(cboST) then sWhere = sWhere & " and [State]='" & cboST & "'"
    if not IsNUll(cboCity) then sWhere = sWhere & " and [city]='" & cboCity & "'"
    if not IsNUll(cboZip) then sWhere = sWhere & " and [ZipCode]='" & cboZip & "'"

If sWhere = "1=1" Then
      Me.FilterOn = False
    Else
      Me.Filter = sWhere
      Me.FilterOn = True
    End If
    end sub