Carissathorne is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Update one field based on change to another in same table

Hi I'm a newbie at Access and I've come across a problem I can't easily Google the answer to.

I have a table of client data. One field is the Spouse ID, which stores the record ID number of the client who is the spouse of said client. I have a form that I am using to edit the information, and when I update the Spouse ID in that form for one client I would like it to also update the Spouse ID of the client's spouse to the Record ID of the current client, so they always match up with each other. What's the easiest way to do this? VBA? Thanks for any help!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    an update query
    after the 'save' or afterupdate event

docmd.openquery "quUpdSpouseID"

the sql would use the current spouseID as the ClientID then update its spouseID from ClientID

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    And if there is not already a client record for the spouse would need to instead open a form to enter new record. Then possibly also have to update records to remove spouse ID, assuming client can't have two spouses. I suppose it would be rare for your clients to switch spouses with each other, but not impossible.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thanks I'm not sure how to reference the field in the query...haven't done much other than basic lookup queries before. How do I tell it to update that field in another record if it matches a particular field in the current record? I'm missing how to do the syntax for referencing different records but same field.

June7 is online now VIP
    I would run this in VBA:

CurrentDb.Execute "UPDATE Clients SET SpouseID = " & Me.ClientID & " WHERE ClientID = " & Me.SpouseID