archie1_za is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Store an IIF option is a table field

Hi

I am a total newbie to this forum and Access. Please excuse me if this is the wrong forum to post this question.

I have a field called [Status] in a form that uses an IIF statement that throws out a result based on a date in a previous field. It displays either "Completed" "Delayed" or " In Progress" depending on the date selected.

I want to store the result i.e. "Completed" "Delayed" or " In Progress" in the table field [Status]

1. Is this the best way to do it?
    2.If it can be done via the form, how do I do it.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    No, that isn't the best way to do it.
    While newer versions of Access allow you to store some calculated fields in Access, it is not a good idea. It violates the rules of database normalization, and is not compatible with other database programs (like SQL).

Anything that can be calculated "on-the-fly" should NOT be stored at the Table level, it should be calculated in a Query. And you can use Queries as the basis of Reports, Forms, and Exports, just as easily as you can with Tables.

=IIf([ActualCompDt] Is Not Null,"Completed",IIf([PlanStartDt] Is Null,"Not Scheduled",IIf([PlanCompDt]<Date(),"Delayed",IIf([PlanCompDt]>=Date(),"In Progress"))))

That is the statement in the field on the form. I dont know if that is the most efficient way of doing it.

How would I incorporate this into a query ?

The end game that is required is that I am able to flag all the "delayed" results and then as in Excel filter it out.

I have done this quite easily is Excel - but now I have to do it in Access.

JoeM is offline VIP
    It is quite easy in Access too, once you know how to do it.
    See here: http://www.fontstuff.com/access/acctut02.htm