Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    School Boy Error is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Query returning all values instead of specified string

Hello, I have a form that users fill in to compile a report with several options. The query works for all but one section. The ones that do work seem to have a IsNull column in the query but if I copy and paste this for the "Outcome" column on mine that isn't working, if I specify anything in the Outcome box the report doesn't return anything at all. I've attached a screen shot showing the query (the location works so I've included that, it's the Outcome one that doesn't) Don't know why the criteria is duplicated so many times, I didn't do that. I've also attached a screen shot of the same query in the SQL view. Sorry, I'm really new to this so this is probably something simple or obvious but I've been on it for hours
    Attached Files Attached Files

ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    <>false is actually a TRUE.
    maybe you should not use prebuilt queries that check for NULL,and instead, build it on the fly,
    and ignore fields that are null. (you see the trouble that does)

Code:
    '----------------
    sub btnReport_click()
    '----------------
    dim sWhere as string 
    dim qdf as querydef

sWhere = "(1=1)"
    if not IsNUll(cboCat) then sWhere = sWhere & " and [State]='" & cboCat & "'"
    if not IsNUll(cboOffNum) then sWhere = sWhere & " and [officenum]='" & cboOffNum & "'"

docmd.OPenReport "rMyReport",acViewPreview,,sWhere

'or build the query behind the report

set qdf = currentdb.querydefs("qsMyQuery")
    qdf.sql = "select * from table where " & sWhere
    qdf.close

docmd.OPenReport "rMyReport",acViewPreview
    end sub