mkwilliq is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

How would you design this database?

Hello everyone!

Access newbie here. I am trying to accomplish something utilizing Access but i don't know the first thing about creating a database from scratch and i don't know how to write code either. So i'm hoping via this forum i can learn how to accomplish this.

Who's up for a challenge and want's to play mentor role?!

Current State
    Right now i have a standardized Excel form that my customer use to request services from my team. There are dedicated cells on the form that they manually enter info and then there are dedicated cells where they pick items from a drop down list. Once they fill those items out, it gets emailed to my team. We then typically print off the form and take it with us to use for reference as we are performing those task. We have a section on the form for internal use where we manually jot down info about the services we are performing such as how long it took us, what consumables we used, etc. At the end of the day, we then take those printed forms with the notes and go to a crude access database that i somehow managed to tweak from a Microsoft template (shocked myself here!). I basically recreated an access form that mimics the Excel form. So my team then opens a new form and manually enters in everything our customer entered plus everything we noted and clicks submit. Very inefficient and the output data is only a small piece of what i want to see.

Future State

Ultimate goal is for the customer to:
    • Customer fills out Excel form and emails it to us
    • We download the attachment to a dedicated folder we will setup
    • Access will automatically read that Excel file and extract data from fields that i specify and enter that into the database as a new order.