andy.101 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Access Database - Multiple Choice selection varying based on last choice

Hi,

I am fairly new to Access Databases but I am designing a Helpdesk/Job system for our IT department.

I have created a table to hold the information and then created a form for the user to complete with the job/issue details. Is this the most efficient way to do it?

One thing I would like to do is make the multiple choice selection change depending on the previous choice (see below)

The first column is 'Category' so the user selects Laptop/Mobile/Software etc

The 2nd column is 'issue category'. I want the choices to vary depending on the answer in the 'Category' column. (i.e. if they choose mobile phone I want the 'issue category to display mobile phone issues).

is this possible? any help is welcome.

Thanks

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    display the user choices to pick in the combo box, the query would bring 2 columns: issue, category
    [item], [cata]
    cell, mobile phone
    laptop, PC

on the form, the user picks CELL, then the afterupdate event can fill in a combo (or textbox) for CATAGORY by grabbing the 2nd column via:
    Code:
    sub cboIssue_afterupdate()
       cboCata = cboIssue.column(1)     'NOTE in VB, columns start with zero, so column 2 of the combo box is 1 in vb.
    end sub
    be sure to set the combo to 2 columns in the property.

Thank you for the help Ranman, but I probably need a little more detail on how to action this.

At the moment I have a table with two columns (one called category and one called sub category), at the moment neither of these tables are linked to anywhere (they are both just short text) but I will be changing them to multiple choice.

Category - Laptop, Mobile Phone, Software etc