Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    dennisb82 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

matching data (barcodes) in a datasheet view and show extra info automatically

I'm relatively new to Access. I started a little project to learn Access. I try to simplify the description.

The first goal of my project is to match the order data from the customers with the barcodescans and then print reports. The orders table gets filled every day with data from customers.

Tables:
    "tblOrders” (OrderID, customer/storenr, barcode, product, quantity , planned shipping date)
    “tblRoutes” (customer/storenr, routenr, sequence)
    “tblStores” (customer/storenr, customer, storenr, address)
    “tblMutations” (barcodes, date/time, remark)

Now, I want to fill the tblMutations with a form (datasheet view) by scanning barcodes. Thebarcode scanning it just like typing and an Enter. After putting in the barcode (with the scanner) I want to automatically show information of other tables in the record of the form (like, customer, store, product, quantity, route) that are related to that barcode.

I searched en tested for days with comboboxes/auto populate/query’s. There is a lot to find on the internet, but I didn’t manage to get what I want. Maybe someone can put me in the right direction?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you have a form open,
    the 0 tab index (the control that gets the cursor 1st) will be your input box
    scan barcode
    barcode fills and does the search. (you can program barcode reader to add the 'enter' keystroke)

Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    you have a form open,
    the 0 tab index (the control that gets the cursor 1st) will be your input box
    scan barcode
    barcode fills and does the search. (you can program barcode reader to add the 'enter' keystroke)