Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Topflite66 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Filtering Dynamic Combo Boxes

I am fairly new to working with Access and I am working on a form that contains several dynamic combo boxes. I have 3 combo boxes, (cboGroups_Packages_1, cboGroups_Packages_2, cboGroups_Packages_3) that are generating a list from the same query, qryGroups_Packages. I would like to be able to filter out the first selected item in the first combo box from the second and third combo boxes. For example, all three combo boxes would display FX4 Pkg, Sport Appearance Pkg, Chrome Appearance Pkg, Trailer Tow Pkg, and Max Trailer Tow Pkg. If in the first combo box I choose the Sport Appearance Pkg, I would like the 2nd and 3rd combo boxes to display the rest of the options except for the Sport Appearance Pkg. Then the same for the other combo boxes. I would like to only display in the 3rd combo box the options that were not selected in the 1st and 2nd combo boxes. I hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Each combo has to have its own query - they cannot be the same. In the subsequent (child) ones, the row source (sql statement) would have to specify WHERE [packages] <> Forms!frmYourFormName.cmbParentComboName or similar. Use your own form/control names of course.
    Downstream from#2, you'd have to add each one that comes before in an AND syntax. Best explain whether or not these combos are to be bound. Usually they are not; reason being, if you alter a combo value when the record is displayed, then move off that record or do some other action that causes the form to be saved, that record contains the new value. This can result in unwanted changes.

What you appear to want is what's often referred to as 'cascading combo boxes' and there's lots of info on the 'net on how to create them. However, they usually aren't tied to the same list.