Results 1 to 14 of 14

Access Icons will not work after Windows 2010 latest update

  1. #1
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Access Icons will not work after Windows 2010 latest update

    I am using Access 2000 on multiple machines. The Access desktop shortcuts will work once then they stop working until the next machine reboot. There is no error message on the click of the shortcut, nothing happens. I have had no trouble until the latest Windows 10 update. I have three machines and 2 have had the latest update and they do not work properly. I have tried to uninstall the latest update but that does not solve the problem. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    Right click on the icon and go to properties then Open File Location. If it is valid then double click where it points and see if it works.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks. I tried that and it will not open from the file location. The only way I can open the file(s) is to open the Access program and browse for the file location. I have also tried deleting the shortcut and creating a new one.

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    What is the name of the file that you landed on by open the file location?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    If you are still using Win10 go to settings>apps>default apps>choose default app by file type - and see what mdb is set to.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  6. #6
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6
    .mdb file type has "Microsoft Access for Windows" listed.

    I appreciate your time. Thanks

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    I believe that is the Click to Run software. Are you still using ac2002?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  8. #8
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6
    These particular machines are running ac2000

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    Do you have ac2000 installed on these machines? Does "Access for Windows" run these applications? Can you change the defaults so that mdb's and mde's are opened by ac2000 instead of "Microsoft Access for Windows"?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  10. #10
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6
    Access 2000 is installed on the machines. "Access for Windows" is the only option that is available.

  11. #11
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    Don't ya just love win10??? Try this approach: https://www.ghacks.net/2016/02/16/ho...on-windows-10/

    Get back to me if it does not work or you're having trouble. There's more than one way to skin a cat!
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  12. #12
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    Here's another what seems easier method: http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/quickly...-associations/

    Let me know the results please.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  13. #13
    cmichelle is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks. I tried the methods listed but had no luck. Out of desperation I did a "repair" to the access program and it seems as if this has fixed the problem. I'm sorry for all the trouble and time you have spent on this. Thank you so much.

  14. #14
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,659
    Great news and it was no trouble at all.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2016, 10:37 AM
  2. Access 2010 on Windows 7 64
    By bazianm in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-2015, 01:23 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-06-2014, 07:49 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2012, 08:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums