Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Paul H's Avatar
    Paul H is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    591

    Break Points Don't Work

    For some reason none of the break points I set work. Access just skips right past them. I've resorted to using msgboxes just to see if the code is running at all. I'm no receiving syntax errors I should be getting. Is there some setting in Access or Database options I need to change? I am working most of the bugs out, but makes simple tasks much harder.

    Thanks in advance.



    Paul

  2. #2
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    Put the break point on the function/sub name, then you will know that the code is not being bypassed. There is no particular on/off switch for them, they are a standard part of the VBA editor.

  3. #3
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    I'm no receiving syntax errors I should be getting
    Can you show us some code?
    Have you tried stepping through code?
    Msgboxes on entry to function and again at exit may be best practical option.

  4. #4
    Paul H's Avatar
    Paul H is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    591
    It doesn't matter where I put the break point. It won't break, so I can't step through the code. Yes, I used the msgbox to verify the code was running.
    Skipping to the chase. I finally got the form working as desired, but debugging it was hell.

    It's just the weirdest thing.

    This code that I wasn't sure was running clearly has a syntax error, see below.

    Code:
       
    Private Sub cmdGenderB_Click()
        
        strReportName = "rpt R00003B Gender"
        DoCmd.OpenForm Form, "frmReportParms_B"
        
    End Sub

    When I clicked the button it would just blink at me like nothing happened. I would have expected an error message on this.
    I finally spotted it and fixed, but again it was puzzling. It still is. So if someone else has the same problem, I can assure them they are not the only one.

    Thanks for chiming in.

    Paul

  5. #5
    Paul H's Avatar
    Paul H is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    591
    To put this subject to bed I finally succeeded by creating a blank database and importing every object from the old to the new. The import stalled towards the end, but after testing it looks like all or most of the bugs have disappeared. I can now set break point and call up VBA modules with a few keystrokes. Probably should have tried this sooner. So far so good.

    Paul

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Using decimal points in text 1.2.3
    By dichotomous2013 in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 06:49 PM
  2. bullet points
    By cbrsix in forum Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2011, 02:16 PM
  3. stuck at some points !!
    By almoj4ever in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 05:44 PM
  4. what is my points in the forum
    By weekend00 in forum Access
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 02:40 PM
  5. Form with bullet points
    By maintt in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 04:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums