hfreedman1957 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Update record count from one table into recordcount field in another table

Hi,
    I have a Project table, and for each project record identified by Project_ID, there are numerous records in an Services table, relationship by Project_ID key.

I'm hoping I can loop through Project table, and for each record, perform an OpenRecordset operation on the Services table based on a Select statement that return the set of records for that project. All I need is the count of the number of Services records returned and to update a "recordcount" field in the Project table record. Please help! I'm still a bit of a newbie for Access VBA but am usually able to look at other code, understand it, and modify it for my needs. I'm currently doing this manually by running a query with a counter and entering the count into the project table record. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks so much!

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    And if you add a few Services to a Project, the Count will be incorrect.

Suggest you look at your relationships/design.

1 Project may have 1 or many Services (a 1 to many set up)

Then use form/subform construct where form relates to the 1 side and subform represents the Services for that Project.