123noob is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 64bit

Using Concatenate to Update a Column Without Duplication

Hi, I am new with Access/VBA/and SQL and hope that someone could help guide me.

I am trying to merge 3 columns' values into a new column and so far everything is good. However, is there a way to remove a duplicate value(s) if it already presented once in one of the columns being concatenated?

tblDockets
    Col1---Col2---Col3---ColNEW
    1-AB-----AB------C

2-AB-----AC----NULL
    3-A-------B-------C

After concatenation and update the ColNEW, the ColNEW I have currently is:

ColNEW
    1-AB, AB, C
    2-AB, AC,
    3-A, B, C

My goal is not to have the duplicated values showing up more than once in the new column... I've looked through the web and only found info on removing the duplicated rows and not the actual values within that row. Below is my goal:

ColNEW
    1-AB, C,
    2-AB, AC,
    3-A, B, C

For my query, I used Case/When and this is as far as I can get right now.

Code:
    Update [tblDockets]
    set [ColNEW] = (Case when [Col1] IS NULL or [Col1] = '' then '' + 
                    case when [Col2] IS NULL or [Col2] = '' then '' +
                        case when [Col3] IS NULL or [Col3] = '' then ''
    else [Col3]
    end else [Col2] + ', ' + case when [Col3] IS NULL or [Col3] = '' then ''
    else [Col3]
    end end else [Col1] + ', ' + case when [Col2] IS NULL or [Col2] = '' then '' + case when [Col3] IS NULL or [Col3] = '' then ''
    else [Col3]
    end else [Col2] + ', ' + case when [Col3] IS NULL or [Col3] = '' then ''
    else [Col3]
    end end end)
    Thank you for your help in advance

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    'case when' is Tsql used in sql server - so are you writing this code in sql server or access?

your data is not normalised which is why you are having such a problem. Normalise the data first