rbennion is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 32bit

Concatenated fields with Is Not Null in WHERE issue

Hello all,

Newbie here, both to Access and AccessForums. I studied Relational DBs and SQL Server in school but the company i am working for uses Access, so i'm relearning quite a bit and i hope you all can be patient with me.

I am trying to concatenate two different sets of fields, then eliminate any nulls for an export. See below how i have it currently.

SELECT [Patient Name (L,F)].[Patient Name (L,F)], [EMSConDate] & " " & [EMSConTime] AS Expr1
    FROM [Full ACTION part 1], [Patient Name (L,F)]
    WHERE ((([EMSConDate] & " " & [EMSConTime]) Is Not Null));

The Patient Name (L,F) is another query that is simply a concatenation of a first and last name fields.

When i run this it generates like 1.5 millions records for a DB with only 1246 records.

Is there a way to concatenate patient first and last name, also concatenate EMS contact date and time, then eliminate null EMS contact dates and times from my results? Obviously not all patients come via ambulance, and i only want to look at those who did.

Thank you all and PLEASE correct me if i'm not clear or not following some form of etiquette as this is my first post.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    There is no JOIN clause. This is a Cartesian query - every record in each table associates with each record of other table.

Don't include the space (" ") in the concatenation in the WHERE clause. Including the space means the value has a space and therefore not null even if the two fields are null.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit