tlkng1 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Opening Outside Form Using Command Button: VBA

Good afternoon all : another newbie here.

Due to security restrictions on our work systems, macros are not allowed and are automatically disabled for any application.

I am in the process of creating a tracking database to track IT type helpdesk tickets. I have essentially two specific forms going at the moment; one is the Accounts form which shows the users' information and a second form that is specific for tickets. What I am trying to do is use a button on the Accounts form to open up a new Ticket form so a new ticket can be created/tracked. While I can get it to work, at home anyway, via the macro, I can't seem to find the proper coding needed to switch the macro to code so it works on my work system.

The Accounts form and the Tickets form are linked by unique IDs. The Tickets form contains the ID, a drop down, multi-select option to identify the type of ticket needed (password reset, account unlock etc) and a date field. The idea is that when the command button is clicked to open up a new ticket form, the ID automatically transfers over.

I tried to do the conversion from within Access, but, the "convert Macros to Visual Basic" selection is grayed out.

I've tried the DoCmd.OpenForm option without luck. While I was getting an error prior, it is now simply not doing anything.

Ideas?

Thanks

TK

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Is it greyed out because you have the macro in design view and not merely selected in the nav pane?
    Or are we talking about an embedded macro, in which case I believe you must have the form in design view?
    I believe the ability to convert is not being prevented by your IT dept. but by what you are doing.