Lorayn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Design with multiple tables referencing sequential number

Morning -I have been asked to create a DB for a security control room and would appreciate some guidance on the design.I am thinking of a separate table for each activity that needs to be tracked.The challenge is each activity must be reported with a sequential number. So if activity 1 has number 121 then activity 2 must have number 122 etc. This will allow reporting of the various activities to be sequential. I have considered one table for tracking the sequential number (not the auto key as will need to be formatted with yy-####)and looking this up with DMAX and incrementing the number via an update query. I now am confused if my thinking is right and if this is best practise from a design perspective. I am using MS 2010 and the DB will be used in a small set with only one person accessing at a time.I am self taught and although have gained a fair bit of knowledge am realizin that each time I look at a DB there is a lot to learn. Any guidance will be much appreciated😃

Look at this link on design.

http://r937.com/relational.html

Lorayn is offline Novice
    Thank you very much for the reply.I shall go thru the attachment carefully and let you know if still have my doubts.Great to a forum!

Lorayn is offline Novice
    Thank you very much for the reply.I shall go thru the attachment carefully and let you know if still have my doubts.Great to a forum!

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Try writing a clear description of what is required in simple English. It will help you clarify your thoughts, and it will facilitate communication with others. Be careful to keep what is required separate from how it could be done.

For example:
    DMAX is not a WHAT. It may be a possible How.
    the sequential number (not the auto key as will need to be formatted with yy-####)???