zashaikh is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Update Query

Hello,

I need some help running an update query. This is something I have never done before, and Im pretty scared about screwing up the data.

Basically, I have two tables. tblLocation has a column of cities and a column of states (for those cities).

I also have a table called tblMain. I recently added a state field (cboState) to tblMain. Now I have cboCity and CboState.

No data is filled in on tblMain concerning states. How do I make cboState fill in depending on what cboCity is on my tblMain? I need to somehow link tblLocation to it.

Any ideas? Ive never had to do an update query involving two tables.

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Is it your intention to get rid of the tblLocation table for good?
    If not, then there really shouldn't be any need for an Update Query, as you can create a simply query linking your two tables on the State field, and returning everything that you need.
    So it isn't really necessary to physically move the State value to your tblMain table if you are keeping the tblLocation table.

Out of curiosity, how are you accounting for City names that appear in multiple states (like Springfield, Washington, etc)? If the City names are not unique, that is going to present problems for you regardless of which method you elect.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    I have no intention of getting rid of tblLocation. And I am able to create a query to return all that I want. But I want the data to be displayed directed on tblMain and frmMain.

JoeM is offline VIP
    In a well-designed database, information is usually not duplicated/listed in more than one place. What many people new to Access and databases often don't realize that pretty much anything you use tables for (data sources for Forms, Reports, Data Exports, etc), you can also use a Query for. So, you should be able to create a query and use it as the data source of your frmMain.