Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    khayward is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2007

How best to split a monster table

Hi,
    I'm a new member, I have limited experience with design, I have successfully built a few tools that I use to keep track of crimping equipment at my shop (Crimp terminal specifications, crimp tools and which go together) as well as another simple one which allows me to see information about all the times a product has been built in a specific year. I'm trying to build a simple work scheduling database but it is really testing what little I know and I need help. I have a learning disorder and I'm struggling with the more abstract parts of what I want to build.

The goal is to keep track of purchase orders but everything I have read says my initial thoughts were wrong. I have two large tables which were pulled from an existing spreadsheet tool and rearranged slightly - a master list of assemblies and a table for purchase orders. What I need help with is where do I break things up into separate, narrower tables. I have read plenty but I'm having trouble understanding. I get the impression that I need to use queries for this also but there's a mental block there. I've put a screenshot of the relationships window below if that helps. Please feel free to provide any criticism, I'm not afraid of being wrong or corrected!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scheduling screenshot.JPG 
Views:	53 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	28385

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Just a few observations and recommendations, for what the're worth.

Remove spaces from object names like fields. So, On Time becomes OnTime
    Do not use "Special Characters" in object names like fields. So, Job # becomes JobNum. I would avoid them in the actual data as well.
    Read up on database normalization. Field names that have numbers in them suggest tables are not properly normalized.