Analyst003 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit

Lightbulb Employee having 2 different rates for a specific date range; How to calculate and design the query?

Hi Everyone/Access Senai!

I hope I posted this thread in the right section. If not, I'm sorry! I thought this would be the right place for my question.

I taught myself how to design my first database at a law firm when I was a college intern. I've been assigned to create the Company's Cost Department Database. I'm excited and nervous at the same time because it's been a while. It's helping to learn more about database since I plan to switch fields from Accounting to IT.

My team has requested what they want the result to be: Choosing specific date range to show the grand total for each staff agency. The breakdown from each agency will contain each Employee ID. Each Employee ID will have the total cost for the specific week range when selected. <-- I hope this makes sense! If not, I'll be happy to explain further.

I was able to design a report that shows the name of the agency, and the grand total based on the week range selected for each employee ID.

The only trouble part I'm having is what if one employee has two different rates due to a raise within the week ranges. I researched through countless of the websites and youtube. I can't seem to find the answer to my question. I don't know if I need to create a table, or a query, and redesign the report.

Please let me know if you need anymore information to help me solve this problem.

Thank you all!

ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Then you need a child table tEmpRates.
    EmpID. (Long)
    Rate
    StartDate
    EndDate

Then queries on the tWork table would also grab the rate where the work time falls inside the tEmpRate.StartDte and EndDate

Analyst003 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Database Design 1.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	52.2 KB