ewuchatka is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Update and keep track of employees details over time

Hello

I am completely new to Microsoft Access. I've tried to use Excel for what I am trying to achieve, but I think it needs a more robust database approach.

I would like to create a simple database.

Fields:
    First Name
    Last Name
    Unique ID
    Job Role
    Job Level

I would like to keep track of employees and any changes happening to them such as: job role, job level and location (and to be able to pull out data by month)

I would like to set up a database, so that external users (line manager) can go to the form: Select their employee, change a job level and select a commencement date of the change (e.g. June).

This will mean that from June onwards, this employee will show with a new job level, but if we pull out the data for May the same year, the old job title will show.

I would also like people to be able to add a new record (new starter).

How do I start? Please help

Thank you

Ewa

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    You have your tEmployee table.
    you may want a tHistory table. This would hold the history of that employees jobs....
    EmpID
    JobRoll
    JobLevel
    StartDate

this is a child table to the Employee table, 1 to Many.
    the tEmp table would hold the current position.
    the employee name would only occur once.

Windows 10 Access 2016

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    You have your tEmployee table.
    you may want a tHistory table. This would hold the history of that employees jobs....
    EmpID
    JobRoll
    JobLevel
    StartDate

this is a child table to the Employee table, 1 to Many.
    the tEmp table would hold the current position.
    the employee name would only occur once.

Ranman256, I am very grateful for your help. Access is very new to me, but I think I can understand the principle.