Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    plackowski is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Quotation Chaos

I'm trying to build a SQL statement so I can create a recordset from my data. I'm pretty new to this, so I started by working from an existing module. I managed to get this string to work:

Code:
    strSql = "SELECT CableNumF FROM CableRoute WHERE " & strWhere & " ORDER BY [CableNumF], [Segment]"
    ...if I set strWhere to "[CondNameF] = """ & [CondName] & """" as an argument in my recordsource.

However, I'm trying to build the function completely in VBA. I tried following the instructions here http://www.baldyweb.com/buildsql.htm and came up with the following:

Code:
    strSql = "SELECT CableNumF FROM CableRoute WHERE CondNameF = " & Chr$(39) & CondName & ​Chr$(39) & " ORDER BY [CableNumF], [Segment]"
    I've tried every variation of quotes and apostrophes I can think of, but when I output the string to my report to test it, I can never get CondName to convert to its contents. All of the fields are text.

aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    If CondNameF is a text field, then it will be
    ....CondFNameF='" & CondName & "' ORDER BY....

That just returns
    Code:
    SELECT CableNumF FROM CableRoute WHERE CondNameF = '' ORDER BY [CableNumF], [Segment]
    when it should return
    Code:
    SELECT CableNumF FROM CableRoute WHERE [CondNameF] = "C002" ORDER BY [CableNumF], [Segment]

WHERE CondNameF = single quote double quote & CondName & double quote single quote

That's what I used. I copied and pasted.

Then the CondName must be empty, as it is showing. Put a VBA stop on that line and see what the value is in that field. Is it coming from a form?

CondName is a field that exists in the table and report I am calling the function from. It is not a field in the CableRoute table. It does come up empty when I stop the code at that line as you suggested.