Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    The_Learning_Curve is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit

So close, yet so far. My desperate journey to a functional DB - HELP

So i've been doing everything I know how to do to learn the basics and I seem to be getting no where. Am I wrong to assume Access can be self taught through free online resources? I've been at it off and on for about a month now in between operating my business and i'm really getting my butt kicked. Which is a tough pill to swallow considering i'm self taught with piano, guitar, music theory, auto mechanics, general aviation, unmanned systems etc... The internet is an unbelievable resource that actually takes away the title "self taught" as i'm actually taught by the individuals and resources online that contribute. With that being said, I don't think i've ever run into such an abundance of vague and limited amounts of information on access. Or i'm too ignorant to comprehend and apply the info I come across. I have priced out a couple of database builders, but its just not an option at this point unless things "take off" beyond my expectations. Plus, I know how things go, I need to understand whats going on so I can maintain and add things as the business grows.

I'm operating a service business, with equipment. The equipment needs operating logs and maintenance logs. The operators need training logs and operating logs. I also provide training for customers, so customers have training logs, some of my equipment may be used for customer training so that info needs to be related. Then of course your basic customer data and contact logs, work orders and general job information data. On top of it all, all employees for the time being are independent, so being able to identify skill levels and experience as the roster grows is necessary.

Feel free to criticize me and bash me for trying to tackle this with no experience, just throw in some useful advice while you're at it!