Sean jackson is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit

The Goldie Locks problem - Where's the sweet spot of table size vs number of tables

I'm automating a manual system we have in our little fitness business. (currently in very manual excel)
    Basically automating how we program strength sessions.
    I'm pretty new to Access, but have a strong excel background, so nothing too strange or new.

My question revolves around where is the sweet spot when breaking down tables.
    I understand it's important to keep tables relatively small in Access to avoid lag time...but how small, and when is small too small?
    ...details follow.

At its most simplest, there are 3 primary information sources
    - Our Member
    - Each specific Session
    - And each individual members Set Data (i.e. the information we need for every single lifting set that member does, weather a warm-up set or a working set)

At one end of the spectrum the session and set data could all go in one table, meaning every set record is just listed in one large table.
    This could get as large as 300,000 records produced each year, and 25-30 fields = a possible 9,000,000 cells of data. Ouch.

One way to avoid lag would be to archive any records older than let's say 2 months, but frankly we'd still pulling queries from the old data regularly, when we pull strength progression over time graphs etc. So, I don't imagine this would work.

Another option is we break the tables up into very small tables
    i.e. There is a new table for every individual member prescription.
    In other words, every time an individual member turns up to a session to lift, they have a new table related to that specific member for that specific session.
    Such a table would only house perhaps 10-25 records, and perhaps <20 fields.
    These would have Member ID and Session ID's