Ishq00737 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Form_request

Hi,

I am new to ms access and specially new to VBA coding. I have a simple form in which I am trying to implement some logic. Basically I have a form that has some combo boxes which are bring data from one table and implementing it to a different table. My issue is that I have two combo boxes. one which is used for the State_Name and other box is use for City_Name. one box display all the states and the other should display its corresponding cities.the logic I want to implement is that when I select New York in the State_Name column then in the City_Name columns I should only see cities affiliated with New york. Please if anyone can help on this using macros or code builder that would be helpful.

Thanks,

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    make 2 queries: 1 for all cities, qsAllCities; 1 for one city given the state, qsCities1State.
    when user changes the State cbo, change the query....

the query: qsCities1State, will look at the form's state combo box to pull data
    select city from table where [state] = forms!myForm!cboState

Code:
    sub cboState_afterupdate()
    if IsNull(cboState) then
       cboCity.rowsource = "qsAllCities"
    else
       cboCity.rowsource = "qsCities1State"
    endif
    end sub

Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    The City combo box data should be filtered by the State combobox value. So lets say your State combo box is called SelectState. In your City combo box called SelectCity, the data should be a query that has the City and State fields and in the criteria of the State field, reference the SelectState value from the combo box on the form. Will be something like Forms!MainForm!SelectState. Last part is in the AfterUpdate event of SelectState, add Me.SelectCity.Requery so that every time you select a state, the SelectCity combobox gets the appropriate City values.

Hi,