bonnielynnw is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Question Re-learning Database Design...Need a resourse - is there a library on-line?

I was a self-taught database designer using Access 2002. Now semi-retired and after a few years away, I need to create one and have Access 2007 (wow! that is SO different!). I need to refresh myself on some basics and don't want to bother folks here with REALLY basic questions.

Right now, I have a Form that opens to Last Record and GoToCtrl [CertNum] which is then highlighted. I am using a Macro on the Form Open Event. Okay, really stupid question here (and I have searched through the commands as well as the items under RunCommand and cannot find a simple <Copy> command. Must I write Code to do that?

I want my AddNewRecord button to go to a new record and paste the value plus 1. It's not my Primary Key, that is a separate AutoNumber field. This is a certificate number that will be printed on a cremation certificate for the pet owner. They just have lots of zeros and they do increment up one at a time but I don't want it to be "locked in stone" like a Primary Key. I'm just trying to automate the form to assist the data entry.

Can't afford a manual but really need to read a few basics on table, form and report design. The Help button (F1) isn't being much help. I guess I'm old school and do better flipping pages. I may need to go to the library but thought I'd ask here first.

Thanks to anyone taking the time to read this. I used to post frequently on this forum back when I was working. It was a wonderful source of assistance.

Bonnie

Why, oh why is it that as soon as I give up and post an inquiry, I find the answer? It's all this "trusted source" stuff! I finally found an item in Help that said to 'Show All Actions' for a db not trusted. Now I need to find how to make it trusted so I don't have to enable on options everytime I open my file.

Wow, hope I was just entertainment and not annoying on this post!