hell0 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

how to import different records from another access file

Hi, im relatively new to microsoft access, i had few people keying in alot of data separately into microsoft access files. So now i need to merge them into 1, the tables formats are the same, however how do i import records that are different from each access files into 1 single access file?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    way to vague a question to provide any real answer other than to use the import wizard to append the data to a table.

Note if these tables in different databases have autonumber primary keys, you will end up with data integrity issues when trying to append because you will have a number of records with the same primary key value.

hell0 is offline Novice
    however import wizard import the whole table, i just need a few entries in some of the tables, is there a way to do so?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    import to a temporary table, then write a query to append the records you want

Alternatively you can just use a query to reference the external database/table e.g.

INSERT INTO tblMAIN
    SELECT * FROM tblx IN 'c:\path\externaldbname.accdb'
    WHERE tblx.somefield=somevalue

hell0 is offline Novice
    so append function only works to move entries between tables in the same files?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    just noticed a typo in my last post, now corrected.

Not sure what you mean by an append function or entries - you have append queries, tables, fields and records. If this is what you mean, then no, my example is moving records from a table called tblx in a database called externaldbname.accdb into a table called tblMain in the current database. Instead of using * (which means all fields) you can specify the names of the fields to be imported from and the names of the fields to be imported to.