RichardR is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Table content and relationships help

Hi there,

I'm new to database development and was hoping that someone might be kind enough to tell me if I'm on the right track with my tables - in terms of how they are made up / linked together?

A relationship report is attached to show what I've done thus far!

In essence I work for a small management consulting firm and I'm attempting to build a CRM system to track our clients, campaigns and the sales pipeline. Any help or advice would be gratefully received. Please let me know if you need any further info.

Thanks in advance,

Richard
    Attached Files Attached Files

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    difficult question to answer without knowing a lot more about what the crm is required to do.

some general comments

avoid spaces and non alphanumeric characters (£) in field and table names. avoid numbers as first characters in table names

not easy to see but you appear to be confusing relationships with joins, they are different things. Relationships define the rules of how the tables work together. So for example you have a relationship between contact and proposal - fair enough. But you also have a relationship between contact>industry>proposal. Also Contact>company>Industry>proposal, and looks like several other routes as well via service and campaign.

As you have it set up the company could be linked to industry A the contact to industry B, and the proposal to industry C. Is this what is intended?

orange is offline Moderator
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I agree with Ajax - more info needed to make comments on tables and relationships.
    Do you have a requirements document ( or similar) identifying what your CRM should do/should support?

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thanks Ajax, thanks Orange,